And the common Malay student asks, “who’s claiming what dance?”

And the common Malay student retorts, “Hey what’s your problem? Where did I claim that your stupid Pendet is mine? I don’t even dance!! “So some overzealous –and stupid– government organization or promotional board or whatever made their message…

And the common Malay student retorts, “Hey what’s your problem? Where
did I claim that your stupid Pendet is mine? I don’t even dance!!

 “So some overzealous –and stupid– government organization or
promotional board or whatever made their message unclear. Or maybe
those admen really are stupid and actually believe somehow the
Balinese stole Pendet from some ancient Malaysian tribe or something.
‘They’ were stupid and now I gotta pay for their stupidity?!

 “And why’d you blame me for Noordin? Or should I blame you for the
Santa Cruz incident? Or for colonizing Timor Leste?

 “And what’s with all these fellow Bumiputras calling you all Indons?
And portraying stupid domestic workers with Javanese accents?

 “This is stupid! We can’t keep on being culturally insensitive like
this! So much we could do together if we’d only stop hating and start
cooperating! This is just so sad…”

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Google+, or my Ello.

Leave a Reply

