Of Pancasila as a Mantra and Gramsci’s cultural hegemony

Of Pancasila as a Mantra and Gramsci’s cultural hegemony at June 1, 2010 muhammadzuhdi: I wonder what Pancasila means for young Indonesians today? erdina: I wonder, too.. RT @muhammadzuhdi: I wonder what Pancasila means for young Indonesians today…

a Twitter conversation

on June 1, 2010
muhammadzuhdi: I wonder what Pancasila means for young Indonesians today?

erdina: I wonder, too.. RT @muhammadzuhdi: I wonder what Pancasila means for young Indonesians today?

meulia: A meaningless mantra? RT @erdina: I wonder, too.. RT @muhammadzuhdi: I wonder what Pancasila means for young Indonesians today?

erdina: @meulia so bleak.. arguably true.. but is the sentiment universal? I hope not.. re: Pancasila a meaningless mantra cc @muhammadzuhdi

meulia: @erdina State ideology cannot work unless it is translated into daily cultural practices as part of a State project. Re: mantra

on June 2, 2010
erdina: @meulia …or, unless daily cultural practices are observed by a State project, and translated into a working State ideology? [reverse?]

Meulia: @erdina what you said is simillar to Antonio Gramsci. Successful Ideology should be growing and maintained by both sides (hegemonic). :)

erdina: @meulia So is hegemony good or bad? I’m not too familiar with Gramsci :o) but cultural hegemony through consensus has a nice ring to it..

Meulia: @erdina On the contrary with Marx, Gramsci sees hegemony as a good thing when it can attracts civil society as part of the Ruling Class!

Meulia: @erdina state is “good” when it can creates people consent to any cultural-ideological practices. So revolutionary is not an easy thing.

erdina: @meulia Hegemony is good when it is all-inclusive, yes. But I’m skeptical that true consensus can ever be achieved. Compromise is not easy.

Meulia: @erdina although hegemony attempts to neutralize opposition, it is no necessarily total. Counter-hegemony proves society is dynamic. :)

erdina: @meulia Hegemony and counter-hegemony. Sounds like a two-party system. Or dialectics?

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Google+, or my Ello.

Leave a Reply

