love/hate advertising.

I have an interesting relationship with advertising. I think. The industry has chewed me up and spit me out. Yet I still appreciate its creativity and playfulness. I didn’t think much of advertising before I entered college. I chose Communications…

I have an interesting relationship with advertising. I think.

The industry has chewed me up and spit me out.

Yet I still appreciate its creativity and playfulness.

I didn’t think much of advertising before I entered college.

I chose Communications Sciences as my major because of a psychological profile test I took at high school that says the course would fit my personality better or something.

There were three sub-majors in Communications: Journalism, Public Relations, and Advertising. I never set out to choose advertising. The first few subjects I signed up at my 2nd semester, which I signed up with suggestions from my guidance councelor in a desperate attempt to salvage my 0.4 GPA to avoid getting dropped out, kind of decided it.

I was not much interested in advertising before college. And after trying it out for a while, the industry kept rejecting me. I’m totally cool with that.
I still appreciate the art, though…

An advertising geek is not an advertising practicioner. I claim to be neither.

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Google+, or my Ello.

Leave a Reply

