Last night my Netbook lasted 7 hours straight…

…and the meter says it still has over 3 hours left. Yes I turned the brightness down to 1 (out of 10), and turned off the WiFi and Bluetooth. But I was typing most of the time (jotting down the minutes meeting) and not once did it go on stand-by…

…and the meter says it still has over 3 hours left. Yes I turned the brightness down to 1 (out of 10), and turned off the WiFi and Bluetooth. But I was typing most of the time (jotting down the minutes meeting) and not once did it go on stand-by. What’s more It’s priced the same as the average Atom N450-based netbooks, but it uses DDR3 memory (instead of DDR2).

My new netbook is an Acer Aspire One D230. 

I bought the version with Windows XP preinstalled at Rp 3,2 million. So that I could immediately begin using it to take notes. And I still doubt I would have enough free time anytime soon to install Ubuntu on this netbook.

Perhaps I could have waited for the new 2Ghz Snapdragon processor-based Google Chrome OS netbooks to come out in the wild, but…

Update: My mistake; it seems the D230 variant equipped with DDR3 memory is the one using an Atom N455 processor with Windows 7 preinstalled. Mine came with the Atom N450, and obviously it only supports DDR2, not DDR3.

But still, the netbook did last more than 8 hours on a single charge, at least. Despite only using DDR2 :p

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Google+, or my Ello.

Leave a Reply

