clientsfromhell: You know how blogs are supposed to be quick, easy way to get your name in front of…

clientsfromhell:

You know how blogs
are supposed to be quick, easy way to get your name in front of people? This
tiny tech company didn’t. They were in a make or break year, and their
investors were breathing down their necks. They hired me to write some blog
articles for them. It wasn’t long before I realized I’d entered the gates of Sign
Off Hell
.

Client: (week one) The investor loves the blog! Keep it up!

Client: (week two) Our sales guy wants to be part of the blog writing process.
From now on, you need to sign off with him.  

I send him two articles to choose from for next week. He doesn’t reply.
I run out of time and publish an old interview instead, just to keep the ball
rolling..

Client: (week three) Why’d you print that article? You need to sign off for
anything you publish. Please get me and sales to approve next week.

I write a brand new article and send it to two people for sign off. I
haven’t heard back about my previous articles.

Client: (week four) Our other sales rep didn’t get your article. Please get him
to sign off as well. Also, what is the aim of this article? Can’t we 5 weeks in
– Oh wait no it isn’t. One sales guy had signed it off but not the other. Can’t
we rewrite it now? Oh and what’s the aim of this article? Can’t we add a 500
word sales message to the end?

I rewrite the article. I send it to four different people for approval.
No one gets back to me at all. I haven’t had one article approved since the
beginning.

Client: (week five) The investor’s mad that nothing’s being published. Also, our
CTO wants to sign off on articles as well. Can you forward what you’ve done to
him?

Client: (week six) Our CEO had a great idea for an article. Please write it and
keep him in the loop.

Client: (week seven) We aren’t sure we all agree about this content. Please call
us to discuss.

Client: (week eight) What do you mean you’re not going to work for us anymore?

from Tumblr blog http://ift.tt/1pNbLuo http://ift.tt/1YfC600

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Google+, or my Ello.

Leave a Reply

