[TLoU2] Not everybody wanted Abby to die.

I just wanted to keep this comment I posted on YouTube [theRadBrad, The Last of Us pt.2 Let’s Play, ep.51 Ending/Finale], to live in a space I control better. I like this piece of writing. And though I do respect the right of people to have a negative opinion towards The Last of Us Part 2 (whether the story or the game in general), I also disagree with said negative opinion.

“We all wanted Ellie to live, and Abby to die.” No. Not all of us.

THE LAST OF US 2 ENDING / FINAL BOSS – Walkthrough Gameplay Part 51 (Last of Us Part 2) Jul 2, 2020

“We all wanted Ellie to live, and Abby to die.” No. Not all of us. Not all of us wanted Abby to die.

Not all of us hated Abby. And no not all of us wanted the only doctor & epidemiologist that could have possibly stopped the Cordyceps pandemic to die, either. But after dr. Jerry Anderson died, there will never be any cure. Not anymore.

And that’s also why Ellie said, “I should have died in that hospital; my life would have fucking mattered.” And as much as by the end of the night of the dance that Ellie wanted to try to start forgiving Joel, there was an almost one year period when Ellie hated Joel, when Ellie don’t even want to talk with Joel anymore. Because Ellie understood that. Just as Abby understood that, “If it was me, I would want you to operate on me.”

….But yeah. All that said and done, we’re all talking hypotheticals here, we’re talking about feelings that each human being in this story have in each their hearts. Different perspectives. Many ways all this can be argued. So yeah, in the immortal & succint words of theRadBrad, “I dunno”.

Author: Ferdi Zebua

For more info visit my WordPress.com blog, my Twitter, my Mastodon profile, my about.me, or my Ello.

Leave a comment